Tuesday, May 23, 2006

2006 Audie Awards

The bibliomaniac in me loves audio books. This way, I can do all my hated household chores, exercise, cook, whatever and get to listen to the latest bestseller or classic novel or whatever else strikes my fancy, AT THE SAME TIME!! How is that for multitasking?! (Although I do not recommend trying to do the crosswords and listen at the same time as I end up having to listen to chapters again…) Anyway, you should give it a try…last Friday (5/19) the Audio Publishers Association announced their 2006 Audie Awards winners for tons of various categories. The complete list is available at www.audiopub.org. Some of the winning titles include:

Audiobook of the Year
The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy: The Tertiary Phase by Douglas Adams, read by BBC Radio
Fiction Unabridged
A Slight Trick of the Mind by Mitch Cullen, read by Simon Jones
Nonfition, Unabridged
The World is Flat by Thomas Friedman, read by Oliver Wyman
Serpent on the Crown by Elizabeth Peters, read by Barbara Rosenblat
Origin in Death by J. D. Robb, read by Susan Ericksen

Category: Audio

Thursday, May 18, 2006

Bram Stoker Award finalists announced

Finalists for the Bram Stoker Awards given by the Horror Writers Association were named this past week. Fiction novel finalists include Creepers by David Morrell, Dread in the Beast by Charlee Jacob, Keepers by Gary Braunbeck, November Mourns by Tom Piccirilli, and The Hides by Kealan Patrick Burke. Visit http://www.horror.org/stokerballots.htm for more finalists in First novels, Anthologies and other categories.

Category: Horror

Monday, May 15, 2006

2006 Nebula Science Fiction Awards

The Nebula Awards® was presented by the Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America on
May 7, 2006. The winners included an eBook for Best Novel: Camouflage by Joe Haldeman
(eBook Fictionwise download) and the Andre Norton Award Winner went to Valiant: A Tale of Modern Faerie by Holly Black.

For more titles of winners and nominees for other categories, go to http://www.sfwa.org/awards/2006/NebWinners2005.html